The main purpose of public libraries should be to provide books. Public libraries should not spend their limited resources on computer software, videos, or DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Providing books for people who want to read in there or to borrow is the basic aim of public libraries. Some think that libraries should not waste income on high-tech media and multimedia facilities. I disagree with this statement and I think that it is significant for libraries to adapt to today's demands Firstly, nowadays using of information technology and different high-tech devices is necessary. It would mean, all areas of our lives are changed due to technology, including education. In the modern-day, reading books is not enough, there is a lot of new information which people pick up through other sources, such as video lectures and the internet. Libraries have to satisfy the requirements of the new generation and provide different types of sources for studying. Moreover, libraries are not only a place where people can take books, it is also a place for lectures, the meetings of different communities and other events related to education and cultural programs. High-tech libraries are popular places for local communities and they improve the interaction between people who have a lot in common. Secondly, libraries are places for a vulnerable part of society. In other words, libraries help people who do not have the opportunity to have sources for education, for instance, people with a low income, students, foreigners. Every person might have access to museums, galleries, scientific databases through digital technology in libraries. In conclusion, I am absolutely convinced that libraries have to absorb new technology and use various methods to help people to master knowledge. The proliferation of digital media affects all aspects of our modern life and libraries are no different.