Plagiarism in all kinds of writing is becoming more frequent. Why is this happening? What should be done to solve the problem?

Writing is an essential key component in learning especially with regards to dissertations. Copying of other peoples work is a common problem encountered in higher institutions. This essay will discuss why this is happening and put forward solutions for this issue. To begin with, in recent times there's been an increase in the trend of plagiarism due to the preference for online learning over classroom lectures. However, there are certain factors that play certain roles in this. First of all, one of the reasons for these is that most students are lazy and find it difficult to do their research on new topics rather they prefer to focus on something that has already been addressed. Secondly, they can predict what will be taught to them as most teachers use a similar pattern of teaching. Furthermore, the availability of the internet makes it easy to access most books as well as journals on a particular topic. For instance, a final year student will want a topic that has already been looked at by someone else because it will make his job quite easy. On the other hand, we might need a lot of time and energy to solve these issues. The lecturers should be able to adopt new methods of teaching in the class such that they won't be predicted by their students. This will thereby encourage research on new subjects thereby covering various spheres of life and this will avoid concentrating on issues that have been dealt with in the past. For example, if there was a discussion on a particular topic during a previous session, a new dimension to approach that same subject of matter should be used in a new class. In conclusion, using the outcome of other individuals' findings is an issue that needs to be looked at. The main issue is laziness although the learning pattern needs to change to improve on this and it can be handled by modernising the teaching patterns.