Some people think that governments should invest more in public transportation instead of building new roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are lots of debates about the efficiency of public transport. It is thought by some people that the governments should focus on enhancing the current transport system rather than building a new one. Personally, I partially agree with this idea and I think that refining the transportation network and extending roads at the same time is the best decision. To begin with, the main reason for investing in public transport is that it reduces air pollution and traffic congestion. By using underground or buses, people may decrease the number of cars on the roads and, in turn, lower the amount of exhaust gas in the atmosphere. For instance, Seoul is a multimillion city which, thanks to highly developed public transportation, was able to eliminate traffic congestion and improve the quality of air. Thus, by investing in the public transport system we can better the environment and commuting at the same time. On the other hand, constructing new roads plays a significant role in bettering people's lives, especially in remote regions. It goes without saying that in rural areas or suburbs, where public transport is an unreliable and infrequent mode of transportation, the vast majority of the population relies on their private vehicles. Thus, in order to, improve the connection between urban areas and countryside the new roads and highways should be built. Therefore, developing infrastructure in these areas helps ensure balanced accessibility for all citizens In conclusion, while some people claim that governments should invest money only in the public transport system, I firmly believe that the development of public transport and road connection are equally important. This is because, improving public transport may reduce traffic jams and protect the environment whereas, expanding road networks leads to enhancing the connection between remote regions and cities.