Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with these statements.

It is undeniable that transportation is paramount for all countries in the world and has been debatable that governments ought to spend money on railways rather than roads. Despite investing money in railways is important, I think the government should be allocated the budgets for both as roads are also vital for commuting. On the one hand, roads are important for commuters and they should be improved like other transports. Although subways are important, people still need to use the roads for many purposes. For example, people who own cars will prefer to drive on roads instead of public transports. Moreover, as for pedestrians or others buses transportations need to use roads and it will need to be improved. Traffic jams can be reduced by building new roads which are able to access the central city. Thus, governments should invest in it like other transportations. On the other hand, spending money on railways is also crucial for passengers. In other words, most commuters use trains to get to their destinations because it is faster and cheaper than other transports. For instance, almost 75% of people are using the trains to get to the places where they want to go and the government spent the budget on it by creating new railways line to reach the markets or some landmark places or maintaining them regularly in Singapore. So, allocating money for railways is also fundamental for passengers. To sum up, I agree that governments ought to use money equally for both transports as both railways and roads are essential transports and commuters will still need to use both.