When a new town is planned, it is more important to develop public parks and sports facilities than shopping centers for people to spend their time in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered that the provision of public parks and sports stadiums should outnumber shopping centres while planning a town so that city inhabitants can pass their leisure time by visiting these places. In my perspective, parks, playgrounds and shopping malls have their own significance in city life, hence, rather than outnumbering one facility, an equal amount of importance should be given. On the one hand, the availability of more green places and sports amenities would encourage citizens to lead a healthy lifestyle. Proximity to these would inspire even the most lethargic person to partake in some healthy activities like jogging, gyming and meditation. This means that people may eventually become habitual of sparing time from their sedentary lifestyle and start being health-conscious resulting in better overall well-being, both physically and mentally. Not only this, but the construction of such amenities could also minimize environmental pollution. Since the more are the trees, the lesser will be the likelihood of air pollution, the vicinity of towns will be contaminated. For instance, the scenario of the countryside could be taken into account where owing to afforestation, improved quality of air can be experienced. On the other hand, shopping centres also play a pivotal role in urban life. As the rationale underneath urbanization, in most cases, is effortless access to commodities, if there are a lesser number of shops, the purpose of living in a metropolitan would not be served. Besides, a number of job prospects can be opened up by constructing shopping malls that generally provide work to many job seekers. Consequently, it would target the two most alarming issues: poverty and unemployment. An exemplification of it could be the capital of Punjab and Haryana which is Chandigarh, where individuals settle down because of the work opportunities its huge malls offer. Thus, the prominence of these hubs can not be overlooked. In conclusion, it can be asserted that although parks and sports facilities are necessary, the significance of shopping centres is equivalent. Therefore, a balanced approach should be followed for town planning.