Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Today, it is more important than ever to have the right work -life balance. A majority of people these days tend to work for longer durations, leaving them with little to no time for de-stressing activities. In my personal view, this approach does more harm than good, and one must find the time to take a break from work and indulge in activities they love. In today's competitive culture, it is normalised to work for more than 40-50 hours a week. In fact, dedicating extra hours is even expected out of the newer generations. People typically have their regular 9-5 job during the day and a side hustle to work on during the evenings and weekends. These side hustle could be anything from running a small business or hosting their own podcast show. This undoubtedly leaves very little time for anyone to relax their mind and body. Lack of physical exercise leads to a cocktail of chronic diseases such as obesity, hypertension, stress and diabetes. It is now normal to see people as young as 40 having a heart attack due to hypertension - something which was uncommon in young men and women even a decade ago. The adverse effects are not only limited to physical issues, even mental health goes in for a toss. We now see a growing trend in a number of people seeking therapy to cope up with work -related challenges alone. This impact on mental well-being snowballs into conflicts at the workplace and family, leading to a vicious cycle of negativity. To maintain balance, one must pick up some leisure activities such as biking, yoga, meditating, gardening, cooking, playing a sport etc., to relax. Spending time with friends and families, volunteering for a social cause or going for a short vacation can immensely affect the overall well-being of a person. In my opinion, a culture of workaholism is unsustainable and disastrous for society at large. In order to prevent that, one must find the time for activities they love that can help de-stress them and strike the perfect balance of harmony.