Some people believe that if a police force carries guns, this encourages a higher level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate whether the police security should be armed with guns or not. Some people hold a strong view that this opinion will increase a higher level of sociable violence. This phenomenon has both pros and cons, hence, before presenting my view, I am going to critically discuss this reality. Obviously, being armed with guns can bring tremendous benefits for the police by protecting them while they are looking into cases. In specific, in some areas where armed criminals are rampant, holding guns not only protect them from potential attacks but also prevents local citizens from being injured. It gives the police the leverage in their combat against criminals, especially those hardened culprits. Norway security can be a leading example of this statement. Previously, the police force was not armed with guns while doing patrols. Nevertheless, after a destructive attack of the IS terrorist, everything has changed to ensure the security of the residents. It is undeniable that having a gun can help the police deter the danger from the criminals. While the merits of holding a gun are widely acknowledged, not all police are allowed to be armed with guns. Doubtlessly, it can increase the potential of mistaken shootings of innocent civilians as the police hardly give a second thought before pulling the trigger when they see someone as a possible dangerous threat. Therefore, the chance of shoot-out would naturally rise, causing many preventable injuries or the increase of death. It is possible to say that armed police can cause a chaotic fear in tranquil communities. In conclusion, despite the fact that armed police security can deal with perpetrators easily, it may lead to a number of potentially dangerous situations in society. In my opinion, the government had better think it over before putting forward laws permitting police to use guns.