It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than that of young people in many countries in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

There is a controversial idea heating a debate over the fact that the world is expected to give rise to an ageing society in the next few decades. While this thinking has both pros and cons, I would contend that this trend may do more harm than good. It is indisputable that the labour market will be seriously damaged due to the lack of a dynamic young workforce. Apparently, there are a wealth of professionals that highly require a good physical condition such as agriculture or heavy industry. Therefore, without the appearance of muscular or healthy young people, those works will generally not be complete or productive. Likewise, even some office lines of career also need the creativity and the well-acquaintance with a wide variety of technological advances from the youngsters that hardly can any elderly have. Hence, in a long-term perspective, the shortage of the youthful workforce may negatively deteriorate the nation’s economy. While the drawbacks still linger, it is unfair if those positive aspects are ignored. In particular, the young can gain the experiences from the older people and thus avoid making the same undesirable mistakes. It is verifiable that the elderly have gone through a frenzy of difficulties and arduous in order to build the solid foundation of the nations in the present day. Accordingly, they will possess such valuable experiences that can be shared with the youngsters. Take Japan as a prime example, despite having an ageing population, the country’s economy still thrives significantly. Since every elderly worker in an office before starting their retirement will have an inspirational speech in front of all the young employees with a view to reminding them about how to do the job properly. For this culprit, it is reasonable to admit some beneficial advantages that the elderly may bring. In conclusion, although the old people may give some precious advice to the youngsters, the fact that the labour workforce will lack dynamic young people will obviously detrimentally affect the country’s overall development in a long term perspective.