Many people spend a lot of money on clothes, haircuts, and beauty products to enhance their appearance. Some people think that it is a good way to spend money, while others think that there is a better way to spend it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued whether spending personal budget on gaining a good appearance through clothing, hairstyles and cosmetic products is beneficial or people should allocate their money in other better ways. Although expenditure on enhancing one’s physical attractiveness is worth it, I am still more convinced that it would be better if people channel their financial budget into other useful purposes. On the one hand, some people advocate the view that it is necessary for everyone to spend money on fashion, haircuts and beauty products since having an attractive look can give people more confidence and good chances in their life. In fact, people nowadays are living in a world full of judgements and prejudices, so those with a beautiful or handsome face and a personal style of clothes and haircuts can easily leave good impressions on others. This can be exemplified by an interview that one’s outside appearance can be one of the most impressive things with recruiters. Besides, with good preparation in terms of outfits and look, candidates can express themselves in a confident and unique way, which brings them a higher possibility of being employed. On the other hand, I hold a firm belief that people had better allocate their money for other purposes on account of several reasons. First of all, I strongly believe that when people put too much emphasis on enhancing their appearance, they are likely to be more materialistic. To be more specific, they can be obsessed and pressured by trying to appear with the perfect look. As a result, they can become fashion slaves and make impulsive purchases on clothes or cosmetics products. Instead, they can use their money for self-development through registering for a new skill course or going travelling to other countries, for example. By doing so, they can expand their knowledge, gain hands-on experiences and have great opportunities to enjoy their life, which seems to be a good value for money. In conclusion, I cannot deny the importance of investing money in improving people ’s appearance, yet I still strongly support the view that there are better ways for people to spend their budget and gain more significant benefits in terms of self-improvement.