Some people think that a government should be responsible for improving public health. Others, however, believe that everyone in the community should take part in this issue. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is no argument that improving public health is one of the most important issues that every country should include in its priorities. Yet time and time again this responsibility is usually placed on the shoulders of the government when in fact it should be each individual who can also take charge of such a fundamental issue. In the following paragraphs, both of these viewpoints will be discussed in detail before a conclusion is reached. It is true to say that governments play an important role in keeping public health and being responsible for the general health conditions of their citizens. They should provide a clean environment and efficient health care policy for people. In addition, the authorities can maintain the health of the general population by increasing the number of sports facilities such as parks and open spaces in each community in order to encourage people to exercise more often, leading to the improvement of both public health and individual health. However, individual health is considered a personal matter and the government cannot be the only one to play a major role in improving it. In other words, there is nothing that the government could do if an individual has unhealthy habits. Therefore, each individual should choose a healthy lifestyle and habits such as eating healthy food and having a balanced diet, Moreover, people should have sufficient rest which is a major factor to boost an individual's immunity. Last but not least, they must consult a doctor regularly or have an annual medical check-up to see if they are physically fit.  In conclusion, both governments and individuals have a great impact on improving public health. While governments must prioritize and take serious actions on this issue, people should pay more attention to taking better care of themselves. This can lead to a healthy community in the present and in the future generation.