Some people think that learning literature is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate over the role of literature in academic curriculum. While I believe that literature sometimes might contribute nothing to the learners’ main faculty, this subject still does wonders for many potential students in their learning journey. It is irrefutable that literature might act as a precursor for students in developing their communication skills which is of necessity in our life. Obviously, literature is an unlimited source of vocabulary, grammar structures which help students to pick up the appropriate words in contexts and write precise sentence formation. If these skills are gradually drilled at school, it will help students express and share their point of views in a more logical and understandable way. Thus, teaching literature at school can be an effective way to enhance verbal as well as written language of students. While the redeeming feature of studying literature is widely acknowledged, it is still a waste of time to some certain extent.Evidently, several science-related faculties such as chemistry, mathematics and physics do not require literature insights, hence, learning literature might make no contribution to the learning journey of students majoring in these fields. For instance, some students whose main subjects area is business administration, so dealing with numbers is the key skill that they should deeply focus on rather than wasting time studying literature. Therefore, it is an absolute waste of time for students whose study field is irrelevant to literature. In conclusion, while there are reasonable culprits for this thinking, I strongly believe that literature still plays a fundamental role in the academic curriculum of the students.