Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

It’s increasingly clear that humanity has strained and damaged the natural environment in myriad forms. To improve the environment, both governments and individuals are able to take various actions. There are two main ways in which humans are detrimental to environment: pollution and waste. Gas emissions from factories and exhaust fumes from vehicles lead to global warming. This is a irreversible trend and will have a lasting effect on the environment. Without enough green space to intake the carbon emissions, we are bound to suffer from it ourselves in the future. The other way is the plastic waste. Customers in the restaurants are prone to use the one-off utensils which are convenient and light-weight; shoppers opt for the plastic bags rather than the recycle one. All these habits contribute to the tremendous amount of plastic waste in our life, which contaminate the air. On the one hand, governments have a crucial role in bringing out change. By encouraging “green” business and creating incentives for good resource management, they can help lead the way. Consider, for example, how US President Obama’s words and plans about a “green economy” have led to signs of renewed economic optimism in America. On the other hand, the public can also do a lot to make a difference. We can drive hybrid cars, conserve on electricity and water, buy local organic food and support environmental friendly brands. These are sustainable practices that can create a ripple effect. In conclusion, surely individuals and governments must work together if we are to fix the environment. This is a problem that affects us all; its solutions must therefore involve us all.