Today, many educators believe that non-exam subjects such as music, drama, and painting are essential to be taught in schools. Others argue that academic subjects should be given more attention. Do you agree or disagree?

Education forms a solid foundation in most societies. In recent times, quite a number of teachers think that learning non-academic subjects like music, drama and paintings in institutions are not relevant compared to others. This essay will discuss the reason why it is important to also focus on these areas. To begin with, the learning process can be very diverse and varies from one place to the other. Firstly, the non-exam topics are also important in bringing out the hidden skills and talent of a student that might be helpful to them in the nearest future. For instance, a pupil might have enormous skills in drawing or singing and might not necessarily be good in mathematics or science and as such this pupil should be allowed to explore the area they feel very comfortable with. Secondly, a person who is talented in a field is more likely to be independent and also be able to generate funds using what he knows how to do. This means that they have more opportunities than those who study higher subjects. On the other hand, schools might seem a little bit boring without these extra topics being inculcated within the school programs. However, some of these areas encourage some children to come to school especially if they have an interest in a particular thing. For example, a child that likes to play the piano will be very happy and also look forward to going to class because of the interest has. Furthermore, in the long,run these can also be a way to boost economic growth through the entertainment industry. In conclusion, a balance has to be created between extra-curricular activities and main academia in schools. However, I strongly agree that incorporating topics that are not academically inclined will be of benefit to both students and the communities as well. Finally, this will help to reduce the stress during lectures.