Crime is becoming a serious concern. Some believe that more action should be taken to prevent crime. While others feel that little action can be done to stop crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime has been a serious problem since the time of monarchies. It has grown a lot, but gradually, even while several steps have been undertaken to bring it under control. With the increase in the global crime rate, various laws and orders have been imposed on the perpetrators, which have helped to curb illegal activities. No matter how strict the laws and orders are, they have failed to control the people who commit crimes. Firstly, in terms of actions that need to be taken to reduce criminal activities let us examine famous 9/11 act by terrorists on the World Trade Centre in New York, USA, where there were a series of hijacking of airlines followed by mass killing which was heinous. This act brought global awareness and made nations tighten their border security and curtail further such terrorist activities. Similarly, the crime rate in Chicago which was considered to be the crime capital of the world was brought under control by concerted affirmative police action in the mid sixties of the last century. Hence, it is clear that law and order does work when it is implemented with commitment. On the other hand, despite strict preventive measures governments have failed to hold criminals in check. The example of drug cartels around the world is a case in point. Governments have been unsuccessful in breaking the trade and distribution of addictive drug rackets in almost every city in the world. Even with increase in law and order criminals have always found a way to reach their goal. This shows that the foundation of judiciary needs to be strengthened with successful catching of culprits while cleaning up corruption in their own ranks which is keeping preventive measures from taking effect. In conclusion, a nation governed by a good constitution needs to condemn the acts undertaken by terrorists involved in various criminal activities should also try to have a tightly secured borders along with a fool-proof system which helps in curbing the crime rate. Despite all these efforts, human tendencies for a quick and greedy gain will continue to manifest as crimes and societies can only hope to find newer ways to curtail such anti-social activities.