Nowadays people around the world are spending more money on consumer goods like TVs and microwave ovens. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, with the development of new technologies, most people tend to purchase more appliances. At the same time, however, there is some uncertainty about the merits and demerits of this situation. In this essay, I will review both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion. To begin with, there is undeniable that modern household appliances gradually become the indispensable part of the modern life, since it can improve and enrich people's life. For example, TV programs with the internet provide varieties of programs which break the limit of time and space, highly expanding people's horizons and boost peoples' mantle health as well. In addition, the life involved in technological devices would be time -saving as to the microwave ovens, which significantly reduced the cooking time and helped people released from the repetitive daily chores. In this way, people can have some spare time to do more meaningful stuff such as being voluntary, doing some researches. Consequently, the money people spend on innovation devices is valuable since modern technology could offer more job opportunities and accelerate economic development. On the other hand, however, some people are probably over-consumed due to the fact that there is all-around advertisements which might mislead consumption and the irrational consumption can result in a large amount social issues such as resource wasting and environmental pollution. Moreover, over depending on new technology may make people less thinking, just pressing a button to achieve the goal, affecting people's ability to explore simultaneously. Furthermore, using domestic technology reduces precious family time to some extent since people focus more on efficiency while ignoring spending time together to do some housework, which can be harmful to maintaining the family's relationship. To summarize, there is no doubt that the whole world benefits from technology goods which convenience life and provides jobs, thereby improving the standard of living. At the same time, however, the penetration of high-tech in life may affect people's consumption view, leading to recourse wasting and environmental issues. In the final analysis, therefore, one can only conclude that it is the main trend to live with technology. Meanwhile, people should consume rationally based on what they do need.