Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits. To what extent do you agree?

Our personality is an amalgamation of myriad of variables, such as genes, environment, parenting, society etc. Therefore, to say that nothing can be done to alter our character traits will be inaccurate. Research has shown that perosnalities can be changed but this is a time consuming process and hence, requires patience. To commence with, environment and society plays a fundamental part in ones' life. An adoloscent child's brain picks a lot of cues from the surroundings. For instance, if a youngster is in a envronment which involves alot of outdoor activities rathar than focusing on indoor activities, it will lead child's nature to be more involved in sports and will help in developing social skills. Whereas, a kid with more indoor involvement will be more connected to individual things such as video games and smartphones. Another pivotal pillar which favours the aforementioned statement is that parents have a saliant role in an adult's character traits. How the family runs have an impact on child's personality. For example, if a teenager living in a violent group with the parents being too strict then the individual will react in a similar fashion with outer society. The person will tend to be very reserve, conscious and protective. Furthermore, reserch states that change is a possibility and to achieve it tiny steps are required. Starting from changing a simple behavioural instinct which leads to a bigger change. Studies also show that to acquire this small change 21 days are required. After a perod of 21 days it inculcates within your habits. Despite being the supporter of the notion that personalities can be changed, I do believe that genes also have a preponderant role in ones character traits. But, believing that a charactertic of person only depends on genes will be false and misleading. Hence, I conclude that personalities are not predetermined prior to our birth, instead are determined by how a person lead its life.