Some people say that government should focus on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems to help people prevent illness and disease. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that the state should pay attention to environmental deterioration as well as accommodation related issues, in order to prevent illness and disease. I totally agree with the aforesaid notion. In this essay, I will discuss, in the first paragraph, how it would be feasible for the government with the support of levy paid by the community and in the second paragraph, the needfulness of huge infrastructure and a large number of efforts which are only within the reach of government fundings. To commence with, the taxes paid by citizens of a nation are crucially significant and this collective amount which directly goes into the government's bank account should be utilised for people's benefit. In other words, almost every nation collects legal taxes from their citizens such as property tax, water fine, housing contribution, business tax and taxes on the purchase of gold and allied elements. So, it is a moral responsibility of a country to look after the basic necessities such as a proper and livable environment along with housing facilities, especially for the people of the lower economic groups. For instance, in India, the city called 'Chandigarh' is the most well-organised city which is planned and monitored by authorities as far as environmental pollution and dwellings are concerned. As a result, the population in Chandigarh are more healthy and living in a spacious and clean atmosphere than the rest of the places. Secondly, to control pollution from various modalities and to provide decent living place needs extravagant resources, which are within a reach of any national fundings and it is not possible for a single individual or a group of people. To make it clear, I would like to exemplify that, air pollution can be controlled by applying stringent rules, to next water pollution can be controlled by providing excellent sewage control channels, then noise disturbances can be minimized by no horn policies or setting appropriate regulations, after that farming which is the largest industry providing food could be supported with infrastructure, knowledge and subsidies to farmers. Finally, the slum areas could be converted into neat and clean apartments with basic amenities like electricity and water. All these things can be only done by democracy as it requires huge money. In conclusion, a country should be responsible for providing a clean atmosphere and a healthy living place to their citizens. In my opinion, I believe that it is absolutely within the capacity of a nation and the taxes paid by people should be justified by giving them facilities.