Some countries invest in specialized sports facilities for top athletes but not for the average people. Is this a positive or negative development?

A certain number of nations usually allocates funds for professional athletic facilities, which are available only for specific athletes, but not for ordinary citizens. This is a positive development for countries that intend to participate in international games. However, negative on the whole since it takes funding away from the population. On the one hand, as long the government decided to invest in the first class of athletes, their chance of participating in international games competitions, such as the Olympic Games is greater, as these competitors have the opportunity to train in centers where there is a wide variety and quality of the equipment available for them. Moreover, it is quite common for the government to give financial incentives to these competitors in other to encourage them to do their best since to win a medal in an international competition is a reason of pride for the whole country. On the other hand, the government should take care of the health and physical development of all citizens and not only sports elites. Since, every working citizen pays the same amount of taxes and should have equal rights for social amenities including specialized sports centers. Furthermore, if society is active the number of illnesses people has related to obesity, for instance, tends to decrease and this directly affects the economy of the country. In conclusion, despite the fact to winning a medal and being recognized in international competitions are a reason of pride of the country. I believe that every citizen should have equal rights in terms of using sports amenities.