The best way to understand other cultures is to work for a multinational organization. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some advocate that working for a company with multinational background is the best way to understand cultures of other nations. I do not agree with this statement. Working for a multinational companies is beneficial to those who wants to understand other cultures. This is because employees will have opportunities to take business trips, travelling to other countries, which means that employees will be able to experience local life. Moreover, staff of organisations with multinational background employ staff from all over the world. This provides employees with chance to work with and communicate with those who come from foreign countries. Through daily conversations and interactions, one will be able to acquire knowledge of a different nation. However, I strongly believe that there are many other ways for one to understand foreign cultures. First of all, reading books is a practical method to study foreign culture. For example, one can read history books and travel guide about a particular country that he or she is into; therefore, he or she will get access to introduction or depiction of local traditions. Another constructive alternative is to enjoy movies and tv programmes produced by specific countries. A good example is American soap operas, whose plots are usually set based on American daily lives and cultures; hence, by watching movies and TV dramas produced in USA, one can also understand American cultures, for instance, how they greet each other, and how they celebrate festivals, such as Christmas, and Thanksgiving. In conclusion, though being an employee in a multicultural organisation makes understanding foreign cultures possible, I believe that alternatives, for example, reading books and watching foreign movies and TV shows, are also helpful and practical.