The arts, including art, music and theatre are considered to be important in society. Do you think the arts still have a place amongst our modern lifestyle? Should the arts be included in the school curriculum?

Many people argue that music, theatre and art are an integral part of the community. I strongly agree with the statement and believe that art is still an important aspect of the modern lifestyle. I also support that arts should be included in schools and in this essay, I will give reasons and facts to support both statements. To start with, I strongly agree that art is still an important and vital part of lifestyle today. Instead, I think it is more popular nowadays among youth. Although we do not see a lot of people visiting theatres because of the online streaming and movie industries, still a lot of new actors and actresses we see nowadays have done theatre in past and they say it has improved their acting skills. Secondly, music is also an integral part of human life, people listen to music more often as it helps them to feel calm and relaxed. Art is also on a boom right now, for instance, studies suggest more than 60% of artists believe that social media platforms like Instagram have helped them to gain more popularity and hence fame and money. Furthermore, I strongly believe that arts should be included in the school curriculum. People are more creative when they are young and hence, I think including arts in studies will help students to explore their boundaries and different art forms. Art also enhances the creative thinking of an individual and gives a sense of maturity. However, many schools have already included arts in their curriculum. To illustrate, a survey conducted in Delhi shows that more than 70% of schools agree that including art in studies have helped in increasing student interactions and students are showing more interest in studies. To conclude, I agree that art is an important aspect of society and it is still very popular among the youth. Also, I agree that it should be added to the course structure of school-going children. In addition, studies suggest that including art in the school curriculum will result in more interactive learning sessions and communication between a teacher and student will be more effective.