In some countries, the role of a mother differs in some ways from the role of a father. Why do you think these differences exist? How might parental roles develop in the future?

Women differ from men in terms of rearing offspring. The well-trodden mindset of parenting in society seems to be the significant reason for this tendency, in which both genders cannot take control. However, the equal role of mother and father is expected to take dominance, since feminism is likely to spread in the future, which supports the benefits of women. The outdated perception considers women are responsible for raising a child, while men are breadwinners, who shoulder financial issues in a family. This is because a mother is patient and sensitive rather than a father. This biological trait gives them the superior ability in dealing with problems of upbringing a child. It can be exemplified by the way women educate their children. Unlike a father, who prompts and challenges a child to achieve a goal at school, a mother will support and encourage them to pursue passions, therefore allowing them to outperform and building a child ’s self-esteem. Thus, they have strong bonding with their child because of great sympathy and understanding, in contrast to a demanding father. It refers to the hidden bias of women ’s role in raising a child, which is out of couples’ control. Nevertheless, the dual role of parents has become the majority in modern society, where feminism is increasingly prevalent in many countries. In such a way, women would derive more benefits from the modern perspective, the responsibility of nurturing a child belongs to both men and women. This can relieve women ’s mental load and enable men to take part in domestic tasks, which seems reasonable these days. The equal role of Western parents is a case in point. In this society, both men and women undertake similar workloads in the family, therefore they both have time to follow their interests and share family responsibility, which strengthens the parents and children relationships. It implies the progressive movement that is projected to be popular in the future. In conclusion, cultural pressures seem to be the underlying reason for the inferior role of the father compared to the mother in a family. Otherwise, this tendency is forecasted to be replaced by the dual role of parenting caused by feminism in the long run.