Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people make? Has this been a positive or negative development?

The way people communicate has changed due to the advancement of technology. Considering the lack of in-depth conversation while people using the internet to get in touch with each other, I suppose this movement appears negative People switch to virtual communication rather than in-person conversation due to the booming of technology. In simple words, there exists a diverse range of modern devices and social platforms that assist people in connecting with others, namely Facebook, Skype and Facetime. Due to the accessibility and availability of these services, people are less likely to engage in real interaction. Unlike in the past, networking was limited to direct conversation, these days, people can connect with friends or relatives around the globe in a blink with the aid of technical devices and Internet access, which is time-saving and However, relying excessively on virtual platforms causes the shortage of in-depth conversation. Instead of striking up a real conversation, which involves emotional connection, people opt for using online platforms because of its exponential advantages, which eventually results in superficiality in close relationships. Imagine that adults, who blame themselves to be preoccupied with overwhelming workload, celebrate grandparent’s birthday online by typing wishes and attached love emoji rather than spending time having a meal with their beloved people; they would think that is the end of their responsibility. Sadly, it will ruin the family relationship in the long term and the elderly are obviously suffering from the lack of affection and caring from progeny, which causes loneliness and mentally instability. It implies that technology has faded the close relationship and widen the gap among people. To conclude, with the development of technology, people tend to prefer online communication. However, this trend entails the lack of sympathy, which finally deteriorates the relationship's quality in the long run.