In many countries today, many highly qualified graduates struggle to find employment. What factors may have caused this situation? What can be done about it?

Considering the unapplicable knowledge and the intensified competition in the job market, many students today with excellent qualifications find it daunting to get employed. To tackle it, universities should shift their teaching methodology, and learners can seek different routes such as the vocational course. By emphasizing applicable courses, students are equipped with sufficient knowledge in real-life employment. Owing to the fact that the teaching orientation puts a high priority on theoretical lessons, most graduates are theoretical-based employees. It seems that educational institutions should discuss with employers to know what students lack in order to meet job requirements, so they can come up with proper curriculums and useful information for students, hence improving the chance of recruiting. Providing more coursework such as experimental courses and practical courses are cases in point. Not only do students have new study experience apart from theoretical lessons, but they also gain useful information which can be applied to their career. In addition, students should take vocational courses into consideration. The need for skilful employers is on the rise in society, therefore having related degrees will open new chances to find employment for young people. Compared to high competition in the professional job market, students can opt for vocational schools, which take less study time and still offer a decent amount of money in the future. The increased demand for hairstylists which leads to the prevalence of this job is a good example. Those who have a sense of art after having a training program are able to undertake this job without possessing any professional qualifications. The vocational occupation seems to become an alternative option for students with promising career prospects. To conclude, the high number of competent students who fail to find appropriate jobs can be blamed for the over-theoretical approach of universities and the rivalry in job offers. Accordingly, changing teaching methods and following different routes will assist people in getting recruited.