The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advances in technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Because of improved technology, we are observing less criminal offences today than in the times before. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this opinion and I will discuss some of the advances. In the past, a family lived relying on the father, the head of the home to provide security in the event of any threat. However, in the present times, advances in technology has led to manufacture of CCTV cameras which are installed in hmes, parking lots, commercial buildings as wel as the streets. These capture moments in real time. With the help of the images and videos recorded, Police can use this imformation to track down thieves, burglars and offenders. Furthermore, mobile phones have a feature that allows one to keep track of the camera recordings even when they are miles way. Everyone is awre about he presence of these cameras, this creates fear amongst potential criminals and hence reducing the rate of crimes. Secondly, the use of security key features is another excellent example of better technology. Mobile phones, tablets and computers now come with a feature known as password protection. Before accessing apps or making a call, a secret code or set of letters is required and this helps to identify the owner and burrs potential criminals. Additionally, some phones require face idenification alongside the password to re-affirm ownership. For instance the IOS 15 Apple system does not permit entry into the home page without a password and face identification, with exception of emergency calls. In the long run, there is a marked decline in the number of cyber crimes as well as account fraud. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the decline in number of offenses today, compared with the ancient times, can be attrbuted to better technology.