The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advances in technology which can prevent and solve crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Crime is regarded as the modern days’ cancer. The technological improvements are assisting the authorities to tackle the criminal problems, hence many believe that those lead to the decline of illegal acts. Committing unlawful behaviour now, however, has become easier through advanced technology from my perspective. Multiple hi-tech gadgets such as surveillance cameras installed in all streets and living areas effectively avert crimes from happening and maintain order in society. Even if a crime is committed, these cameras help the police officers to track the footage from criminals. For example, the facial recognition software from Google helps them to identify criminals. Similarly, if a person is using a smartphone, it has become very easy to find their whereabouts, using the maps and live location. On the contrary, the cyber world nowadays is prone to multiple cybercrimes. All a bad guy needs is a computer, then they can commit illegal activities such as phishing, identity theft, cyberbullying, etc. Cybercrooks, for instance, may steal access to credit cards or online banking accounts of innocent people and then utilize others' names to make transactions. Even teenagers are also involved in these new forms of crimes, consequently, there are a variety of cases in which a crooked group of students deceives weak students via social media. In conclusion, technological advances, however, undoubtedly help to prevent crimes and protect individuals’ safety. However, with regard to the emergence of a new genre of crimes over the internet, the decrease in the crime rate is nowhere to be seen.