Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Several states establish top infrastructures for elite sportsmen to gain triumph worldwide rather than offer these infrastructures to most residents as everyday items available. In my view, this is a negative development, which is stemmed from some reasons. To begin with, those particular setups are expensive, putting a tremendous burden on the budget of the government. Splurging on sports infrastructures may cause limited spending on social welfare fields, for instance, resulting in the decreased quality in education, medical system, transportation and so on, which is more beneficial to lift the living standards of residents than just a few gold medals prized by Olympic Games. Moreover, purchasing topmost infrastructures does considerably less good than building wide-used facilities in a wide term. The reason is because that the upper facilities could only be made use of by a few numbers of users, nevertheless, athletic setups constructed for daily application provide access for citizens of all ages to utilize them, which not only build up their bodies but also maintain their health and fitness. The general boost of people's physical wellbeing makes more sense than improved scores of a few professional athletes undoubtedly. In conclusion, making sporting facilities for every resident is more important than purchasing the uppermost infrastructures for the professionals. Thus, it is a negative development method for the government to spend too much on top sports set-ups.