It’s time to ban social media. It has been shown that it has made life worse for people all over the world, from politics, to self-image, to the spread of disinformation. It is a social experiment that has not worked and it is time to say goodbye.To what extent do you agree with the above statement?

Social media has deeply infiltrated everyone’s life. It is shown from politics to self-image to the propagation of disinformation, it has been demonstrated that it has made people's lives worse all over the world. In my point of view, I partly agree with the given statement for the following reasons. In terms of positive development, there are some benefits that social media brings to people ’s lives. Firstly, social media has now become a means of communication. People facilitate communication in modern times as nowadays people can globally connect with old friends and relatives or with others who share common interests. For example, Facebook is currently providing service for 2.4 billion users who can choose to connect and interact with anyone they want, regardless of where they are. Secondly, study sessions are frequently happening on social networking websites through live streaming services, especially during the COVID-19 pandemic. Therefore, learners around the world now can have free access to online classes on such sites. On the contrary, the negative development of social media is much more concerning. As these sites are becoming more and more dominant and attract large numbers of new users every day, people can fall prey to online communication abuse, such as online bullying and harassment. Additionally, social networking websites can become a toxic environment where users can be verbally assaulted because there are only a few rules, most of which are spoken rules rather than established guidelines, that restrict hateful or abusive content. Furthermore, overuse of social media can lead to people downplaying the importance of the reality of everyday life. Nowadays, many young and reclusive users prefer living in a virtual world on social sites than engaging in real-life relationships. This may have serious mental effects, such as increased stress, anxiety and loneliness. To sum up, the invention of social media has made real effects on people all over the world recently. I supposed that although social media itself has brought the world closer and made lives easier, people should not rely on it and let it control their own life.