Developments on science and technology have caused environmental problems. Some people think that a simpler way of life will protect the environment, while others believe that science and technology can solve environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The improvement of advanced technology leads to environmental destruction. In order to tackle this problem, some people believe that science and technology are viable, while others think that we should simply the lifestyles. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument together and give my opinion on the latter. Admittedly, it is commonly acknowledged that simpler lives would mitigate the effects resulting from environmental damage. Specifically, individuals can take practical actions to preserve the planet. For instance, people can conserve energy by driving less and reducing their intake of beef. Owing to the fact that it can largely improve air conditions by decreasing the emissions of carbon footprints. In the meantime, the less beef we eat, the less harmful gases we produce, particularly the formation of methane. Therefore, if we live in a simple pattern, the environmental issues can be addressed effectively in a proper way. Nevertheless, I would argue that with the help of science and technology, the environment can be better protected. In recent years, many scientists focus on environmental-friendly techniques. For instance, many trains now run on electricity which thoroughly reduces the exhaustion of poisonous gases. Similarly, this advancement enables people to save more time during the journey and conserve energy respectively. Therefore, this change is seen as a useful method to allow our atmosphere to be better. Alternatively, the invention of mobile phones also decreases the inevitable use of transportation, because people can achieve telecommunication which largely reduces the production of carbon dioxides by vehicles. In conclusion, although simplifying lifestyles can alleviate the problem to some extent, I strongly believe that environmental preservation is more effective by technical promotion.