Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationships. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that the state-of-the-art technological improvements in communication are deleterious to the relationship amongst people, whereas I state my view that it can bring some benefits to enhance the situation. On the one hand, social isolation might be the first consequence. This is because people are often substituting physical relations with electronic ones due to the innovation of the Internet, as well as smartphones and the emergence of other social networking websites in today's era. Consequently, it is not common to see individuals gathering at the coffee shop for chatting. Furthermore, people's social etiquettes are declining as the lack of social exposure and informal ways of transmitting messages. For example, social platforms offer users shortcut ways of expression by using emotion icons and abbreviations. Resultantly, this can remove the formalities rather than writing full sentences or making gestures or postures to express their actions. On the other hand, I believe that there is further evidence supporting these developments are not detrimental to human relationships. Firstly, persons can keep in touch with others regardless of physical distance. For instance, abroad students tend to contact their family just by a click on Facebook features within a half of minutes when compared with writing letters. Therefore, this can keep building a strong family bond. Secondly, there are several networking platforms providing users with plenty of opportunities to make friends, which contributes to expanding their social circles. As a result, this can strengthen social connections. In conclusion, although the advancement of communication technologies are potentially harmful to human relationship, the two advantages above may demonstrate that they can promote interaction among society.