With an increasing overweight population some people think universities should make sport a compulsory module on all degree courses. To what extent do you agree?

There can be no doubt that the topic of turning sports into compulsory degree courses in the university due to the rise of overweight students is one which deserves some analysis. It is the opinion of this writer that the weight of evidence tips the scales towards those who believe this is not feasible. As should be self-evident, sport is a major subject at grade schools in various countries. One should also notice that the number of obese young people is increasing regardless of schools' efforts to make them exercise. This is due to the fact that humans are having more unhealthy lifestyles. Because of this, compulsory sports classes in academies are not a realistic idea. It is beyond a doubt that new courses need investments. It should also be mentioned that universities need billions of dollars and years to build enough infrastructure. It can be explained that these universities need new gyms, stadiums, and other facilities to cater for millions of students. As a result, these institutions might have to shift their focus to financial matters rather than educational missions. It cannot be denied that such policy raises the concerns about discrimination. Furthermore, one should also acknowledge that judging people based on their physical appearance is uncivilized. Because of this, educational policymakers will certainly face protest from students if they went in this direction. Accordingly, universities rather apply sports as recreational activities as they have been doing for years. Thus it can be seen that compulsory sports courses in the university can be unrealistic, costly, and discriminatory. Therefore, there is ample evidence to conclude that universities should not make these subjects as compulsory modules.