Nowadays, some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. To what extend you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that technology is playing an increasingly important role in our modern life. While some people advocate that public museums and art galleries should be replaced by technologies, like computers and the Internet, I cannot completely agree with this point. Technology, undoubtedly, is replacing some functions of the physical sector. Firstly, it is extremely convenient to use a computer to watch historical objects and works of art. For example, a student can now watch most of the works of art displayed in museums or art galleries around the world through a computer at home. Furthermore, VR can bring people a better viewing experience. Secondly, by displaying works of art and cultural relics on the Internet, more and more people can have the opportunity to enjoy these great works of mankind. Moreover, the abolition of physical museums and art centers can save a lot of money, which can be used to help the poor. On the other hand, museums and galleries still have irreplaceable advantages. First of all, these physical buildings can provide us with the perfect environment to admire cultural heritage and spiritual civilization. Under these circumstances, people might feel like talking to the creators of historical objects and artworks. Additionally, in addition to providing services for visiting works of art, museums and art centers also have educational and social functions. For instance, there are a lot of schools in China that organize students to go to museums and to feel historical relics closely, which can give education to the younger generation. Besides, visiting museums is also a social experience, and nothing can re-create the feeling of enjoying art with friends or family. In a nutshell, I believe technology can give benefits for the public to enjoy works of art and historical objects as well. However, the physical building of museums and art galleries is also still necessary to educate society directly.