Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the contemporary world, a sense of independence is usually considered treasurable; societies tend to be self-employees. However, it seems this phenomenon includes some drawbacks. This essay marshals some facts in order to address the mentioned statements. On the one hand, the sense of independence provides the privilege for people to decide as they wish in any condition. Provided that a person was tired, he might rest for a while without getting permission from a supervisor. Furthermore, being self-employed is generally accepted as a situation with less pressure. A self-employer is not only involved in projects that he intends, and he might not put himself in any mission-critical task that involves intense pressure. Turning to possible drawbacks of self-employee, the staple impact could be lack of essential motivation for progressing in a task. This may damage either the efficiency or work hours of the self-employed person. It might be true that some benefits lay in this phenomenon, but being a self-employee may end in a lack of practicable support in case of unpredicted pressing difficulties. A self-employed person could not rely on any perk or support from any company. This circumstance is exacerbated unless the person catered insurance service or backup for all potential hazards. Rarely do people perform those since it ends in extra monthly charges. To conclude, being a self-employee is a popular way of making a living, and it appears that the root cause is the illusion of independence. Moreover, its most impactful drawback is the lack of well-organized backup when a catastrophe occurs. (282 words)