Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that successful sportsmen can earn much more money than other professionals who succeed in other sectors. Many people think it is reasonable, but others consider it unfair and inequitable. For me, it is completely justified that famous athletes get paid much higher than people in other professions. To enlighten this debate, let’s see how some people can complain about the sports professionals getting paid so much money. They think that athletes are just physically strong and not intelligent. And the sports games are just for fun. Whereas medical doctors, for example, work days and nights to treat thousands of patients but are poorly paid. Or, scientists who have made vaccines against Covid 19 and as such, helped to save millions of people around the world, are only receiving a third, or a fifth, of what David Beckham may earn with an advertisement on TV. And they think it is totally unacceptable. But other people have different explanations for that issue. First, to be successful in sports, a person must be trained from his very early childhood and also works hard every day. He would have to sacrifice many joys in his life, for instance, eating, going out with friends, etc. in order to save time for practice, for becoming stronger and better skilled. Second, he will face a lot of risks of getting injured during the games or competitions that may lead to some cracked bones or disabilities, or even death. We may name here a number of famous Formula One racers who died or got paralyzed in or after the race. Third, because of those injuries, many athletes cannot sustain their health for long. As a matter of fact, they usually see degradation in their performance after reaching the age of 40 and have to retire much earlier than workers in other professions. Therefore, the athletes deserve a better earning in the best years of their career in order to finance their life later on. Furthermore, great athletes who earn international prizes, such as gold medals in the Olympic Games, make their countries and nations proud of these achievements, as a symbol of the country’s strong position in the world. To conclude, I think famous and talented sports professionals should be paid well. It is really duly recognition of excessive efforts they have made to become successful in their chosen job.