With growing population in cities, more and more people live in a home with small or no outdoor areas. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays we are witnessing a rapid increase of population in urban areas which leads to residing in premises with little or no outdoor area. In my opinion, it is certainly a negative aspect for a few reasons. The first issue might be the lack of social and physical activities. To be more precise, if there is not enough outdoor space or literally no space at all, it will definitely deprive families of having leisure time such as spending their get-togethers on a fresh area or relishing food alfresco. For instance, in the USA parents tend to play basketball with their offspring or to make barbecues at weekends and on national holidays. Consequently, not only will this neglect have an adverse effect on dwellers’ frame of mind, but also it will break the practice in the local communities. Another detrimentally influenced by space deficiency factor is farming. Undoubtedly, some individuals particularly seniors are fond of cultivating organic food in the area where they live. To illustrate, products like vegetables and fruit are quite costly in some northern parts of Russia. Therefore, in order to supply green food for the forthcoming winter citizens maintain a garden, yet without enough room, they are denied this opportunity. As a result, people will start having problems with their nutrition and health conditions which will undeniably deteriorate their sense of place in society. Taking all aspects into consideration they point me to the conclusion that under no circumstance should the rapid population growth negatively affect people’s place of living in order to retain wholesome surroundings in the world.