Some people think it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football, while other people think that taking part in individual sports is better like tennis and swimming. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Sports play an important role in the development of a human being. Few people believe that being part of team sports is useful whereas others opine that individual sports are more helpful. Each of these types is beneficial in different ways and we will see that in the essay where I will add my perspective in the conclusion. On one hand, with team sports like football, a person develops his communication skills and cooperation as it is essential in any group activity. To win the game, one must work together with his teammates which leads to learning various interpersonal skills. Moreover, when you play with other members, you learn to play the game better. The whole unit can learn from individual mistakes there resulting in the overall betterment of the players. For instance, one of my colleagues had an issue with communication in the organization. He joined a cricket club and it helped him become a better communicator. On the other hand, individual games help develop one’s strategy. These help a human being plan and execute effectively. This helps a person learn how to allocate resources and utilize them wisely. Moreover, in one-man events, the player develops the presence of mind. There are many situations where the participant must think on his feet which will aid in decision making. For example, Andre Agassi, the tennis ace has created a brand and maintains it well to this day and he attributes his success to the lessons he learnt on the tennis court. In conclusion, while individual sports give an individual a lot to learn, I opine that teams games offer more scope for the development of a person.