Today children are spending much more time watching TV compared to the past. Is this a positive or a negative change ?

These days, there is an increasing trend of children having excessive screen time. Despite the benefits fo r e ducation, this phenomenon could contribute to poor cognitive and physical development from early ag es. On the one hand, some people would believe that watching television is for educational purposes. There are various channels with attractive visuals in order to make learning more interesting. For example, instead of reading books, children could learn about wildlife, cultures and languages through the animation series on television. Furthermore, some educational channels offer a series of subjects without fees. These materials, as a result, help parents save money for tutors and time for finding suitable learning materials for their children. On the other hand, overspending time on screen would have more negative impacts on children ’s development than the benefits above. Firstly, advertisements on TV could result in cognitive decline from early ag es. Since children are so impressionable, they are easily manipulated by violent and toxic advertisements. Constant exposure to such co ntents c an lead to anti-social behaviour and tw isted m indset later in life. Secondly, watching TV excessively contributes to sedentary lifestyles. Were children to spend more time on wa tching TV, they would have less time for playing outside. Moreover, excessive screen time also causes myopia due to the fact that children are exposed to green light from the screen. These conditions are likely to be worse as they grow up and cause disastrous consequences later. In conclusion, the merits of watching TV could not be ignored, yet I believe that bi nge watching h as more detrimental impacts on children ’s development. Therefore, it is advisable that parents set screen time limits for their children.