Many people today use their phones for sending texts more than talking. What are the reasons for this? are there more advantages than disadvatages ?

Nowadays, people are using mobile phones more than they intend to use. Initially, they are invented for the purpose of calling only. However, due to advancement of the technology, there are plethora of features available in mobile phones these days. Hence, many people are using their phones for chatting instead of talking. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this and both the merits and the demerits associated with this issue. It is already known that the due to advancement of the cutting edge technology, the number of people using the mobile phones and the number of features available in those phones are proliferating. Firstly, due to this the competition, more and more number of applications are being created for the mobile phones. Thereafter, resulting in providing more options to the users. Hence, people have many options beside from typical phone-calling. So, people are growing eager to try their hands-on different texting applications. On the one hand, this might help in the development of new applications which might help people in various aspects. For instance, consider Whatsapp, since it's introduction the number of people using this application increased rapidly, now there are almost 1 billion active users of whatsapp Whatsapp across the globe. So, the developers are constantly trying to add new and helpful features such as UPI payments through them. Secondly, with the help of texts, one can easily send the message he/she want to convey to others at anytime. Texts are a faster means of communication too. Instead of talking over minor issues, one can send texts instead, thereby finding a way to save time and pass over the message quickly. On the other hand, there are certain drawbacks associated with this trend. Firstly, one cannot convey their feelings accurately over a text message. This might result in sabotaging of the relationships. Secondly, due to more and more people prefering texts over calls, can also indirectly improve the cyber-crime rate. As, hacking of text messaging applications is relatively simpler than that of telecommunication. As a result, many attacks like masquerading, modification of messages might take place through excessive usage of texting applications, as they are mostly internet based applications. To recapitulate, this trend of preferring texts over talking is debatable. Though, there are contentious arguments opposing this, I regard this as a positive sign, as there are greater advantages to this and convincingly the advantages of this trend are outweighing the disadvantages associated.