Nowadays, some parents put a lot of pressure on their children. Why is the reason for doing that? Is this a positive or negative development for the children?

High pressure and expectation on children from parents is a long-existed phenomenon in our society, which more frequently happens to the younger generation. As far as I am concerned, there are two main reasons contributing to such a situation, and it has a more negative impact on the children. Firstly, the pressure is originated from the imbalance between a large amount of population and limited educational and social resources, especially in metropolises and developing countries. Therefore, in order to ensure the children can access good-quality resources, the children must be not only eligible but stronger enough in this competitive selection with excellent performance. Secondly, high expectation from parents about prefect life is another significant factor. As cherish of parents, children have also carried a wish from their parents that to be successful and to be perfect. Thus, parents are likely to pay high investment on children to achieve a better life in the future, from higher school grades to extracurricular activities such as dancing, instruments and second languages. Those in-class and out-class activities certainly push pressure on children. Despite the good record children achieved, I believe the negative effects overwhelm the benefits. The first and foremost problem is bad physical health. Regular exercise is important to children while lack of outdoor activities and enough rest can cause problem for children ’s health, especially short-sightedness and obesity. Moreover, the mental problem cannot be ignored. Due to peer pressure, children have started their study in an early age, which could narrow their playtime in childhood, neither shortening their well-being nor socializing ability that should be developed in playtime with their peers. Meanwhile, a highly competitive atmosphere may also prevent them from enjoyable friendships. In conclusion, I think success is not always linked with good grades and money, hence, society, both parents and the educational system may need to offer more space and options for the children to develop their own interests.