Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a notion that computers have become the essential invention of the last century. This essay will demonstrate that this statement is true by showing facts and giving relevant examples. First of all, the invention of computers have advanced the space development programs permitting humanity to make fast calculations without hours of handwork. For example, NASA had a department that was responsible for calculations that were needed for various space research projects. It could take up to several months to make one calculation, and there was no insurance from human errors. However, computers made it possible for NASA to make all the preparations in several days or hours, helping them to win the Space Race. Computers became the invention that fastened all the other technological developments. Furthermore, due to the development of computers, scientists together with medical workers were able to develop advanced medical instruments, thus saving more people, and prolonging their lives. Recently there were news about surgery in Sweden, where doctors implanted a chip into a women's brain that allowed her to see again, as she was blinded for over ten years. It took complex computations and the cooperation of surgeons with a specially developed robot to make this surgery possible. Nowadays medical technology allows not yearly to diagnose illnesses in the early stages, but also assists in the treatment of old ones. In summary, the invention of computers have truly become a valuable point in humanity's history of development. It allowed people not only to improve and save lives through medical inventions, but also to explore places beyond Earth.