Many people work long hours,leaving very little time for liesure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or disadvantages?

These days, long hours of working has become a common issue among employees, hence leaving them with very little time for leisure activities. There are both advantages and disadvantages to this. This essay will highlight both. To commence with, the pros of being a workaholic are, firstly, the worker becomes eligible for a promotion and gets a good salary raise. Consequently, the financial and position raise gives him a confidence boost. Secondly, he is satisfied with his work. For instance, taking more responsibilities at work gives good job satisfaction. In addition, he is also able to fulfil his personal financial needs like buying a car, purchasing a flat etc. Even if he sacrifices his free time, he is still awarded financially, hence making him happy. Furthermore, there are downsides to this as well. The increase in stress level is higher for the employees who work longer hours compared to those who work lesser. Consequently, increased stress levels result in many severe mental health conditions like depression and lack of focus. In addition, the employees lose the opportunity to learn new hobbies. For example, working for a longer duration curbs them from relaxing and pursuing their hobbies. As a result, the employee might not be able to relax. To conclude, this scenario has both advantages and pitfalls and neither of them overscores the other. Hence, working for long hours with no leisure activities, when practised for a prolonged period of time, may have adverse effects on health. Whereas, doing so for a shorter period can fetch a better financial status.