In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sum of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Massive spending on mass transportation continues to be a controversial topic in several nations. While some citizens find that there is an urgency to build a new railway for speed trains to reduce travel burden and decrease emissions, some argue that improving current mass transport is rather more crucial to tackle congestion and ease the daily commute. I will consider both opinions in the following paragraphs. Constructing the new track for speed trains to connect vital cities would speed up the commute and lessen the travel burden of cities’ residents. Additionally, it is effective to reduce emission which comes from any outer city transportation. For instance, Japan Shinkansen connects five major cities across Japan successfully reducing time spent on travelling and causing economic acceleration among those areas. However, due to rather unaffordable costs, only certain people can experience the benefit of it. On the other hand, investing in repairing and improving the current public transport can serve more people and will speed up daily commute in the local area. In addition to that, focusing on upgrading the current mass transport will help lessen the traffic congestion especially during rush hour. For example, in Indonesia’s capital city, Jakarta MRT and BRT are effective in lessening the traffic jam on vital roads during busy hours since most people would prefer using public over private vehicles. Overall, having rapid trains would bring benefits to outer city travel and decrease pollution. However, I am inclined to support improving current public vehicles since it will bring more prominence impact to daily commuting and prove to be effective in tackling congestion during rush time.