Some people believe that art, such as painting and music, does not improve people’s lives, so the government should not spend money on it. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Art plays an essential part in our histories and cultures as a form of entertainment, as well as a therapy to cure certain types of mental conditions. I believe that governments should invest in the different forms of art since it improves people's life to a certain extent. Art comes in various forms and all of them entertain us in different ways. We feel varying degrees of stress in our daily lives, from the need to be at work on time to the need to make the ends meet and support our families. It is crucial to release this increasing pressure so that we will not get a mental illness, and this is where entertainment plays a huge role. Some people like to destress by painting while some people feel better after watching a comedy movie and laughing out loud or singing out their favourite songs. For example, I personally enjoy watching funny, reality TV shows on the weekends which energises me to start a new week. In addition, art is widely used as a type of therapy in today's health industry and accepted as a proven way to relieve some types of health conditions. Some psychologists get their patients to draw during the counselling sessions, and analyse these drawings to diagnose their patients' feelings, especially when treating patients who suffered from a tragic experience. Music is also well known for its effects on our brain. Some people, who have trouble falling asleep, have to listen to instrumental, calming music to fall asleep faster, while some people play music to improve their concentration during certain activities. For instance, some surgeons like to turn on the piano music during their operations for better concentration. In conclusion, art helps in improving people's lives in some ways, and thus, governments should spend a certain amount of money on it.