Successful companies use advertisements to make more sales. What can make an advertisement effective? Do you think advertisements are a bad thing or a good thing for society?

It is undeniable that the cutting-edge technological era has provided opportunities for enormous adverts which indeed bring great benefits to companies. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss some effective techniques that make adverts so prevailing, and presents my positive thoughts toward advertising. When it comes to the success of advertising, the following three methods have to be mentioned. First and foremost, repetition is the most universal technique. For instance, when you are thinking about buying a pair of running shoes, the chances are you would buy the one you remember the names of the brand, which you kept seeing from various platforms, like TV, newspaper, or magazine. Another very powerful adverting measure is celebrity endorsement. As we all admit that we learn by imitating the person we admire. Take a famous athlete eating a snack as an example. Although there’s no necessary connection between the athlete and the snack, we still will buy that particular snack simply because we admire the athlete. Above all, language art is also very influential in regard to persuading. Humour or implication are both very effective ways to persuade people to buy the items. Therefore, there are tons of effective techniques for the agencies to advertise their products. Although some of the methods of advertising might seem to be too persuasive, personally, I still believe that advertisement is a positive marketing element in modern society. On one hand, it saves people precious time in making choices. Like I mentioned above, when people are thinking about buying something, they don’t need to struggle too much amount the items in the same category. Instead, they can quickly make the decision for the one they remember the names. On the other hand, due to successful advertisement, the economy is boosted up enormously. Besides, some public service adverts are naturally educated, which can keep citizens highly informative, thus improving their living conditions. For instance, some welfare campaign announced by the government provides information for the elderly, so they can make good use of the social service to improve their life quality. In conclusion, due to the highly sophisticated advertising techniques, advertisement plays an imperative role in our society now. As long as we balance the good with the bad, we can truly benefit a lot from adverts.