It is generally agreed that the amount of rubbish created by humans today is a worldwide problem. What do you think are the main causes of this situation? What measures can be used to tackle the problem?

Today's society has evolved into a remarkable waste producing machine which is a global issue. This is primarily caused by ever-increasing consumption of goods which can be addressed through encouraging sustainable consumer behaviour. Consumerism has reached an all-time high, accelerating generation of waste. In today’s throw-away society, goods are often bought today to go to the trash tomorrow to make room for the new, improved versions. This is because global mass production of goods has made them accessible and affordable for many, devaluing them to just short-term use. This trend is a primary reason of accumulating often non-biodegradable waste which worsens the situation with waste created by humans. On average, today, an item of clothing is usually worn not more than 7 times before being thrown away, while it takes not less than 50 years to decompose. To reduce the impacts of goods we consume, government initiatives to promote sustainable consumption can be introduced. In other words, authorities should encourage consumer behaviour which is consistent with the environment by promoting the culture of reuse. For this purpose, small, mundane consumption choices that change people’s perception about shopping practices or purchasing decisions can be stimulated and rewarded. For example, some individual tax incentives can be introduced for those who buy clothes in second hand shops. In conclusion, a global issue of increasing rubbish production caused by consumption patterns influenced by consumerism can be addressed by encouraging sustainable consumption.