The crime rate has witnessed a surge around the world. The main contributing factors could be rising levels of poverty and growing economical disparity between social classes as well as poor education in many countries. The main question is that how we are going to tackle this problem?

Crime rate has witnessed a surge around the world. The main contributing factors could be rising levels of poverty and growing economical disparity between social classes as well as poor education in many societies. How are we to tackle these problems? It is blatantly obvious that crime rates have soared in recent years, which is often attributed to poverty, inequality, and poor education. All these could trigger the intrinsic instinct in every human being to commit crimes. It is tacitly assumed that poverty is the main reason provoking one into an offense. In societies where the number of inhabitants living under the poverty line is higher, it would be more likely to resort to crime in order to be able to make ends meet. Additionally, many crimes stem from inequality. As population grows in a country and yet wealth is not distributed fairly, the disparity would lead some citizens to turn to crimes as a means of standing up to injustice and being able to survive. Finally, as education plays a crucial role in every society, if one did not receive proper education, they would be prone to to criminal activities. Adolescents who tend to skip school would spend more time in places where criminals frequent, while those who attend classes learn proper behavior, thus they would be less likely to turn into criminals. Although crime can be rooted in a multitude of matters, the main issues are economical problems and lack of good education. Therefore, almost any person could be exposed to crime in some way. Is crime insuperable or is it possible to eradicate this monstrosity? Various approaches could be taken to grapple with this undesirable rise in crime rate. For one, if a government did its utmost to alleviate poverty by creating fair job opportunities for all its citizens as well as monitoring the distribution of wealth, fewer people would feel neglected by those in charge. Hence, the rate of crime would plummet. For another, educational systems could significantly affect one’s behavior and tendencies later in life. If students learn good manners and behavior at school and also if seemingly minor offenses such as truancy or bullying were dealt with more tactfully, major crimes and felonies would become much less commonplace. Finally, the escalation in crime reveals shortcomings in a country’s criminal justice system, so adopting more punitive measures could substantially contribute to reduce crime. Although severe punishments such as corporal punishment at schools or death penalty might tend to, in some cases, exacerbate rather than discourage misbehavior, administering harsh punishments has proven to be more efficient in many places. Admittedly, the fight against crime might not seem easy and straightforward. It is, however, of the utmost importance for governments to take practical and precautionary as well as corrective measures to make communities safer. In conclusion, crime rates have increased mostly due to inequalities, either economical or social, as well as poor education. Nevertheless, there are strategies, that if planned carefully, could help a nation overcome this issue.