Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people are unaware that this is happening.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? The exponential growth in technology has been a boon as well as a curse for humanity. Every new advance is similar to a coin with two sides. Thus, new security measures like cellphone tracking and cameras have led to a new dilemma of whether they are necessary for safety purposes or a breach of privacy. I strongly agree that the advantages outnumber the disadvantages in this matter. These measures have become indispensable not only for individual safety but also for national security. To begin with, CCTV cameras are commonplace in airports, train stations, banks, ATMs, schools, hospitals and a multitude of other places including smaller shops. They have proven to be of irrefutable benefit in arresting thieves, kidnappers, rapists and murderers. For instance, when a local jewellery store in my town was robbed, the face of one of those robbers was slightly visible in the night vision enabled lenses. As a result, the police were able to identify him and thus, arrest him with the charges of theft. Hence, I firmly believe that the above-mentioned advances have helped to reduce the rate of such crimes in society. Furthermore, new cutting edge technology like cell phone tracking has played a big role in tracking down latent terrorist activities amongst the population. Therefore, the intelligence agencies can keep an eye on suspected groups. This has boosted the efforts taken by many governments around the world in halting terrorism. As a result, plenty of pre-planned attacks have been foiled before they could be executed. To summarise, regulated monitoring of high-risk people and places using phones and other novel devices is warranted. This would fortify the armed forces and help in maintaining the safety of their fellow citizens. So, these measures when rightly used will prove to be extremely beneficial to restore peace in the society and will far outweigh its disadvantages.