Stress is now a major problem in many countries around the world. What are some of the factors in modern society that cause this stress, and how can we reduce it?

These days, many stresses caused by psychological, emotional or mental, strain are abundant in today’s hectic pace of living. To alleviate this tension, people should either exert the effort of changing their personal environment or accept it, seeking alternative ways to handle the consequential pressure. Today’s fast-paced and often unpredictable lifetime causes major factors activating anxiety reactions. When agitation is caused by juggling a demanding job, family and social life, no readily apparent response is appropriate, which leads to the accumulation of anxiety and tension. From an evolutionary perspective, a human is programmed to deal with one issue at a time, which is practically impossible when facing current social and economic strains. In today’s busy lifestyle, many stress triggers, be it an upcoming deadline or a delayed flight, cannot be dealt with immediately, leading to chronic stress and other associated diseases. A possible way to address symptoms of strain is to change the situation causing it or, if this is impossible, change the response to the many stressors that bombard us continually today. By changing circumstances, people can eliminate some major stressors such as, for instance, managing the workload or re-negotiating deadlines. In case the source of stress is beyond control,  as can be witnessed during the current lockdown, it is essential to develop stress coping skills. Exercising is just a good example of such an activity that releases dopamine, a feel-good hormone that alleviates the alarm. Another time-proven relaxation technique is practising daily meditation which is a type of mental concentration that helps reduce anxiety and tension, regulating the heart rhythm. In conclusion, it is the 21st-century lifestyle, rich in unpredictable challenges and perils that brings about distress which is now a pressing issue around the world, leaving no person untouched. To address this problem, people should consider steps to reduce the stress -inducing elements or change their response to stressors experienced.