Some people believe that it is a good idea that older people continue to work if it is possible for them to do. Do you agree or disagree ?

It is believed by some that continuing to work after retirement could be a positive choice for a number of elderly people, as long as it is possible for them. I tend to agree with this argument and I will explain more details in the following essay. On the one hand, elderly people might find it thrilling to pursue their occupation after retirement. Spending most of their time at home, they might experience a feeling of being useless as well as becoming depressed. As a result of this feeling, they might find it difficult to interact with their family and friends. To illustrate, my grandfather, who was a manager of a huge and renowned company, didn't communicate with us and spent most of the time in his room after retirement. On the other hand, being retired, older individuals have the chance to relax and do their favourite activities which they didn't have the time to do as an employee. For instance, they can read more books and spend most of their time with their relatives. Thanks to retirement, they have more time to enjoy their friends' company. Moreover, as we are all aware, older people should have a healthy lifestyle, which is challenging to perform while they continue to work. To sum up, pursuing one's occupation is considered as an excellent choice for people who have the potential and also interest. I feel that continuing to work regardless of one's age could be a good decision; however, this is as long as the elderly people be aware of their physical and mental abilities.