Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Even today there are a lot of employers who get in touch with their employees though they are away on a vacation or over the weekends. This not only is very impolite but also very annoying. We have to respect every individual time and space and professional urgencies can wait until a person is back unless it is a real bottleneck situation. The essay below will cover how the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Every professional is eligible for a 14 day paid vacation by default in every company apart from the weekend holidays. If a person is taking a leave or vacation it means that the person is unavailable and should not be disturbed. But in countries like India, there is a huge misconception that if a person has gone on holidays a staff can contact him/her as they are at leisure. Some companies ask employees to work even during the weekends to compensate for the work demand. These practices are not only unethical but also very impolite and annoying. But in many countries, people are afraid to ask questions to management in fear of losing their employment and hence they make themselves available. Companies such as Google, Amazon, Walmart offers generous holidays and vacations to their co-workers. They also take strict actions against any person who intrudes into others personal time while they are away unless it is an emergency thereby indicating that they respect every employee's welfare. This is a major reason why a lot of people prefer working for MNC's or a company with great work culture over smaller and local companies. From the summary above, it is very evident that the disadvantages of contacting an employee during their holidays are very high and one should refrain from contacting them unless there is an absolute risk or emergency.