Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory part of high school programs (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a notion that high school students should volunteer on community service projects on a mandatory basis as part of their school program. I tend to completely agree with this statement, and in this essay will show that this type of work is beneficial for both students and society. First of all, social services help students to become more responsible, as they are accountable for the jobs they do. When high school students are given social works they need to show some final results. For example, when a pupil is responsible for tutoring junior students for a certain class, it is expected that those younger students will gain some knowledge, thus making a volunteer accountable for their advancement in this area. Therefore, when a person is responsible not only for themselves, but also for others, it raises their level of reliability. Moreover, volunteering for community services are advantageous for the public, both short-term and long-term. In a moment, students can help with some small jobs, but in the distant future, they might develop a habit of helping others, hence they can become socially aware members of the community. The statistic shows that many philanthropists were part of groups that did charity work, whether helping those in need or having charitable status. Compulsory unpaid community work might increase the number of people who do altruistic jobs in the upcoming years. In conclusion, doing changeless community projects should be obligatory for all high school students. This way pupils will become more responsible members of society, as well as the public might have more charity donors in the subsequent years.